Coaching appointments finalised

November 15, 2017 12:17 pm Published by Comments Off on Coaching appointments finalised

It has been a busy off-season in the AGL Loy Yang North Gippsland Football Netball League, with six clubs appointing new coaches for season 2018.

Heyfield is the latest club to announce a new mentor, with former AFL premiership player and popular local hero  Mark Stevens taking on the top job.

Stevens, who played 122 AFL games for North Melbourne and Adelaide including the 1998 grand final as well as the 2005 and 2007 flags at Heyfield, replaces Josh Stubbe and will assisted by well-credentialed trio Damien Birss, Adrian Cox and Leigh Brown.

One of Stevens’ former Adelaide Crows teammates, Jacob Schuback, will coach two-time reigning premier Sale City, taking over from David Piasente, who stepped down after guiding the club to back-to-back flags.

Schuback joined Stevens at the Crows via the 2001 National Draft and managed seven appearances in three seasons. He eventually returned to Gippsland in 2008 before joining the Bulldogs in 2009 and went on to win four premierships – in 201-11 and 2016-17 – and two best-on-ground medal for his performances in the 2011 and 2016 deciders.

Both grand final sides will sport new coaches next season, with Matt Scholz filling the vacancy left by Chris Pettitt at Yarram.DUNcan

Change is also afoot at Churchill, Traralgon-Tyers United and Glengarry, with the Cougars passing the reigns to skipper and 2016 Sel Burley medallist Chris Williams, the Bombers landing Michael Duncan from Morwell and the Magpies handing the keys to Drew McGrath.

It’s status quo at the remaining four clubs, with Cowwarr reappointing Brett McMaster, Rosedale retaining Sam Bristow and Gormandale entering a second season under Steve Hazelman, while Woodside has elevated star player Todd Bryant to the role of co-coach alongside Gary Jones.

The 2018 home and away season fixture will be released soon.

2018 Senior Coaches

Churchill: Chris Williams
Cowwarr: Brett McMaster
Glengarry: Drew McGrath
Gormandale: Steve Hazelman
Heyfield: Mark Stevens
Rosedale: Sam Bristow
Sale City: Jacob Schuback
TTU: Michael Duncan
Woodside: Gary Jones/Todd Bryant
Yarram: Matt Scholz

Categorised in: Football, Netball

This post was written by admin

Comments are closed here.